D-PVM-OE-01 logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

D-PVM-OE-01 Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt

TL;DR
  • The exam has eight official objectives; Storage Provisioning is largest at 24%, followed by Business Continuity Administration at 20%.
  • Part 1 is about 40 questions in 75 minutes; Part 2 is about 8 questions in 45 minutes.
  • The standard Dell exam voucher lists at USD 230 through Pearson VUE and stays valid for 12 months.
  • Retakes require a 7-day wait after the first failure and at least 14 days after later failures.

What the Dell PowerMax Operate Version 2 Exam Actually Is

D-PVM-OE-01 is the exam code for Dell PowerMax Operate (Version 2), part of the Dell Technologies Proven Professional program. It validates that you can operate and administer PowerMax storage arrays day to day: provisioning capacity to hosts, monitoring performance, configuring local and remote replication, and moving data between arrays. If you are still orienting yourself, the explainer on what the D-PVM-OE-01 certification is covers the basics, and the requirements breakdown explains who should sit for it.

Dell's stated requirement is practical rather than gatekept: sufficient skills from hands-on product experience and/or recommended training, plus passing the Version 2 exam. There is no mandatory prerequisite certification listed in the sources behind this guide, which means preparation quality is entirely on you.

The products in scope matter because the exam is tool-specific. Published product coverage includes Solutions Enabler 10, Unisphere for PowerMax 10, TimeFinder SnapVX, SRDF, Open Replicator, NDM (Non-Disruptive Migration), and O-MDM. Note that the product list names PowerMaxOS 5978 while the Data Mobility objective names PowerMaxOS 10. Both labels appear in Dell's official material, so do not be surprised to see each referenced. Practically, that means you should understand how the platform behaves across both release lines rather than assuming everything is a single-version topic.

Format, Timing, and Registration Mechanics

The exam is delivered in two parts. Part 1 is approximately 40 questions in 75 minutes; Part 2 is approximately 8 questions in 45 minutes. The separate allowances add up to 120 minutes of testing time. Be careful about over-reading this: the published sources do not establish a fixed 48-question total, and they do not identify a separate practical or simulation component. Dell also does not specify a passing score or detailed response formats in the exam-specific sources, so any site claiming an exact cut score for this exam is guessing. Our page on the D-PVM-OE-01 passing score explains what is and is not known.

The practical implication of a two-part structure is pacing. Roughly speaking, Part 1 gives you under two minutes per question, while Part 2 gives you several minutes per question. That disparity suggests Part 2 items are heavier, so expect longer, more involved questions there and train accordingly with scenario-style practice rather than quick fact recall.

ItemWhat the sources establish
Exam codeD-PVM-OE-01, PowerMax Operate Version 2
Part 1Approximately 40 questions, 75 minutes
Part 2Approximately 8 questions, 45 minutes
DeliveryPearson VUE test center or OnVUE online proctoring
Standard voucherUSD 230 on the Pearson VUE USD Global voucher store
Voucher validity12 months (separate from credential validity)
LanguagesEnglish and French
Official practice testD-PVM-OE-P-01
Passing scoreNot specified in the exam-specific sources

On cost, the headline number is the USD 230 standard Dell Certification Exam Voucher, and that voucher is good for 12 months. That window is about when you must use the voucher, not how long your credential lasts; the two are separate concepts. For a fuller view of what you might spend on training and practice on top of the voucher, see the certification cost breakdown. For scheduling details, the exam dates and scheduling guide walks through booking.

Reading the Domain Weights as a Study Map

Dell publishes eight objectives with approximate weights. They total 98% as published, and that is retained as-is here rather than normalized. Treat the weights as proportional guidance, not as a guarantee of question counts, since the exam is approximate in length and split into two parts.

DomainWeight
PowerMax Family Storage Provisioning24%
PowerMax Family Business Continuity Administration20%
PowerMaxOS 10 Data Mobility12%
PowerMax Family Monitoring and Workload Planning10%
PowerMax Family Local and Remote Replication Concepts10%
Solutions Enabler 10 Implementation10%
Unisphere for PowerMax 10 Implementation and Administration8%
PowerMax Family Management in a Virtual Environment4%

Notice what the table reveals. The top two domains alone account for 44% of the published weighting, and the top three reach 56%. A candidate who is rock solid on provisioning, business continuity, and data mobility has a strong foundation even before touching the smaller areas. For a deeper walkthrough of each area, the complete guide to all eight content areas goes domain by domain.

Weights are guidance, not a loophole: A 4% domain such as virtual environment management still represents real questions. Skipping it entirely is a gamble, because with an exam of roughly 48 questions across both parts, a few missed items in a neglected domain can matter near the pass line. Study small domains lightly, not never.

The Heavy Hitters: Provisioning and Business Continuity

PowerMax Family Storage Provisioning (24%)

This is the largest objective, and it is where an operator's daily work lives. Expect questions about how storage is presented to hosts and the relationships between the objects involved.

  • Know the object hierarchy used to present storage: storage groups, port groups, initiator groups, and masking views, and how they combine to give a host access to devices.
  • Understand how devices and capacity are created and assigned, and what changes when you add or resize capacity for a running application.
  • Be able to reason through a provisioning scenario in both Unisphere for PowerMax and Solutions Enabler CLI terms, since either interface may frame a question.
  • Practice troubleshooting logic: if a host cannot see a device, which object in the chain is the likely culprit?

PowerMax Family Business Continuity Administration (20%)

This is the second-largest objective and ties directly to Dell's replication technologies in an operational context rather than a purely conceptual one.

  • Understand TimeFinder SnapVX for local point-in-time copies: creating snapshots, linking and unlinking targets, restoring, and the lifecycle of snapshot sets.
  • Understand SRDF for remote replication and the operational states a device pair can be in, along with the actions that move pairs between states.
  • Know the administrative actions around failover, failback, and what must be true before each is safe.
  • Be able to match a business requirement (recovery objective, distance, application consistency) to the appropriate replication approach.

These two domains reward hands-on repetition. If you have lab access or a Dell training environment, build a host-to-storage path from scratch several times and create, link, and restore snapshots until the commands and GUI workflows feel automatic. Candidates who only read about masking views tend to stumble when a scenario question describes a symptom and asks what to check first. The difficulty guide discusses where experienced administrators and newcomers each tend to struggle.

Replication Concepts and Data Mobility

Two related domains sit beside the business continuity objective. PowerMax Family Local and Remote Replication Concepts (10%) is the conceptual layer: what each technology does and when you would choose it. PowerMaxOS 10 Data Mobility (12%) covers moving data between arrays and platforms.

PowerMaxOS 10 Data Mobility (12%)

This is the third-largest objective, which makes it worth real study time rather than a skim. The published product list points to the technologies involved.

  • NDM (Non-Disruptive Migration): understand its purpose, the general workflow from setup through cutover and commit, and what "non-disruptive" implies for host access during the process.
  • Open Replicator: know the use case of pulling or pushing data between PowerMax and other storage, and how it differs from SRDF-based replication.
  • O-MDM appears in the published product list; review the official exam description and recommended training for the context in which Dell frames it rather than relying on third-party summaries.
  • Keep the release labeling straight: the objective names PowerMaxOS 10, while the product list names PowerMaxOS 5978, so be ready to reason about migration and mobility across versions.

A useful way to separate the replication topics in your head: concepts questions ask "which technology fits this requirement," administration questions ask "what do I do next in this workflow," and mobility questions ask "how do I move this data without breaking the application." Build a one-page comparison of SnapVX, SRDF, Open Replicator, and NDM with use cases and constraints, then keep it alongside your cheat sheet review.

Unisphere, Solutions Enabler, Monitoring, and Virtual Environments

The remaining four objectives are smaller individually, but together they total 32% of the published weighting, so they are far from filler.

Solutions Enabler 10 Implementation (10%)

The command-line and API layer. Know how Solutions Enabler is installed and configured, how it discovers and communicates with arrays, and the role of the SYMAPI database and related components. Be comfortable reading symcli-style commands and recognizing what they accomplish.

Unisphere for PowerMax 10 Implementation and Administration (8%)

The GUI management layer. Understand deployment, array registration, user and role administration, and navigation to the common provisioning, replication, and performance workflows. Because many questions can be answered from either Unisphere or Solutions Enabler, learn the equivalent action in both.

PowerMax Family Monitoring and Workload Planning (10%)

Performance and capacity awareness. Know what metrics matter, how to read performance views, how to identify potential bottlenecks, and how to reason about whether a new workload fits on an existing array.

PowerMax Family Management in a Virtual Environment (4%)

The smallest objective, covering how PowerMax is managed and integrated in virtualized infrastructure. Review the official exam description for the specific integration points named there, and keep your study proportional to its weight.

Sequencing Your Preparation

Rather than a generic schedule, order your study by dependency. Provisioning comes first because every other domain assumes you understand how storage reaches a host. Replication builds directly on that, and the tools domains reinforce everything once you have seen the underlying tasks. The recommended training document Dell publishes is a preparation curriculum, not an additional blueprint, so use it to find learning material while treating the eight objectives as your scope. The training overview covers the options in more detail.

Week 1

Provisioning foundations

  • Study the host-presentation object chain end to end.
  • Practice in both Unisphere and Solutions Enabler.
  • Skim the official exam description to anchor scope.
Week 2

Tools and monitoring

  • Solutions Enabler 10 implementation and Unisphere for PowerMax 10 administration.
  • Monitoring and workload planning concepts.
Week 3

Replication and business continuity

  • SnapVX lifecycle and SRDF states and actions.
  • Failover and failback logic; map requirements to technologies.
Week 4

Data mobility, virtual environments, and practice

  • NDM, Open Replicator, and O-MDM context.
  • Light pass on virtual environment management.
  • Full timed run of the official D-PVM-OE-P-01 practice test, then review weak domains.

If you already administer PowerMax daily, compress this plan and spend the saved time on the areas where you rely on one interface only. Many operators know Unisphere well but have never typed a Solutions Enabler command, or vice versa. Use the D-PVM-OE-01 practice tests to find those gaps early, and review your misses by domain so each wrong answer maps back to an objective. The main study guide hub ties these resources together.

Key Takeaway

Do not treat practice scores as a prediction of your real result, since Dell does not publish a passing score for this exam. Instead, aim for consistent accuracy across every domain, with extra margin in provisioning and business continuity where the weight is highest.

Exam-Day Rules, Retakes, and Staying Current

The exam is delivered through Pearson VUE, either at a test center or via OnVUE online proctoring. OnVUE generally prohibits books and notes, so plan on a clean desk and no reference material. Run the system check ahead of time if you choose the online route, and verify your ID and room requirements before exam day.

If you do not pass, Dell's retake policy sets waiting periods: 7 days after the first failure and at least 14 days after the second and subsequent failures. Each attempt typically requires a fresh voucher purchase, so a failed attempt has a real cost. That is a strong argument for taking the official practice test and a few weeks of structured preparation before booking rather than treating the first attempt as a trial run. For more on how candidates fare, see the discussion in the pass rate analysis, which is careful about what data does and does not exist.

Once certified, maintaining your status requires compliance with current Dell requirements. A fixed renewal term is not established by the sources behind this guide, so check Dell's current Proven Professional policies for the specifics that apply to you. Career-minded readers can explore roles that value this credential, along with the ROI analysis and the salary guide. Typical employers are organizations running PowerMax in enterprise data centers and the partners and service providers that support them, though outcomes depend heavily on your experience and region.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many questions are on the D-PVM-OE-01 exam?

The exam is delivered in two parts: approximately 40 questions in 75 minutes for Part 1, and approximately 8 questions in 45 minutes for Part 2. These are approximate figures, and the sources do not establish a fixed total question count or a separate practical or simulation component.

What is the passing score for D-PVM-OE-01?

The exam-specific sources do not specify a passing score or detailed response formats. Plan to be strong across all eight domains rather than targeting a particular percentage, and check Dell's current exam information for any updates.

How much does the exam cost and how long is the voucher valid?

The standard Dell Certification Exam Voucher is listed at USD 230 on the Pearson VUE USD Global voucher store, with 12-month voucher validity. That validity applies to using the voucher, and it is separate from how long a credential remains in good standing.

Which domains should I prioritize?

Storage Provisioning is the largest at 24%, followed by Business Continuity Administration at 20% and PowerMaxOS 10 Data Mobility at 12%. Together they make up over half of the published weighting, so master them first while still covering the smaller domains.

How long must I wait to retake the exam after failing?

You must wait 7 days after a first failure and at least 14 days after the second and any subsequent failures. A new voucher is generally needed for each attempt, which is why thorough preparation before the first sitting pays off.

Ready to pass your D-PVM-OE-01 exam?

Put this into practice with free D-PVM-OE-01 questions across every exam domain.