D-PVM-OE-01 logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

D-PVM-OE-01 Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • The retrieved Dell sources do not publish a passing score for D-PVM-OE-01, so any specific cut score you see online is unverified.
  • The exam has two parts: about 40 questions in 75 minutes and about 8 questions in 45 minutes.
  • Storage Provisioning (24%) and Business Continuity Administration (20%) together carry 44% of the published weighting.
  • Retake waits are 7 days after a first failure and at least 14 days after later failures.

What the Official Sources Actually Say About the Passing Score

If you searched for the D-PVM-OE-01 passing score hoping for a single number, here is the direct answer: the official Dell Technologies sources reviewed for the Dell PowerMax Operate (Version 2) exam do not specify one. The Exam Description (dated September 18, 2024) lists the exam objectives, the approximate weights, the product scope, and the time allowances. It does not state a passing percentage or a scaled cut score, and it does not detail the response formats used on the exam.

That matters because many third-party pages confidently quote a pass mark for Dell Technologies Proven Professional exams in general. Dell has changed how it reports results over the years, and a number attached to a different exam, a different version, or a different credential is not evidence about D-PVM-OE-01. Here, "D-PVM-OE-01" refers specifically to the Dell PowerMax Operate Version 2 exam, and you should treat any unsourced figure as noise.

Why this article does not give you a number: Publishing an invented cut score would be easy and would drive clicks, but it would also mislead you into studying to a target that may not exist. The honest approach is to explain what is verified, show how to build a margin of safety around the published weights, and point you to the places where Dell would publish scoring details if it chose to. For the broader picture of how demanding the exam is, see How Hard Is the D-PVM-OE-01 Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

What is verified versus what is not

ItemStatus in Dell's published sources
Exam objectives and approximate weightsPublished (eight headings, totaling approximately 98%)
Time allowancesPublished: 75 minutes for Part 1, 45 minutes for Part 2
Approximate question countsPublished: about 40 in Part 1, about 8 in Part 2
Passing scoreNot specified in the retrieved exact-exam sources
Detailed response formatsNot specified in the retrieved exact-exam sources
Fixed total question countNot established; counts are approximate

Reading the Two-Part Format: 40 Questions, 8 Questions, 120 Minutes

The exam description splits delivery into two allowances. Part 1 is approximately 40 questions in 75 minutes. Part 2 is approximately 8 questions in 45 minutes. Added together, the allowances come to 120 minutes. A few cautions about interpreting that structure:

  • The question counts are approximate. Do not assume a fixed 48-question exam.
  • The sources do not identify Part 2 as a separately labeled practical or simulation assessment, so avoid building your preparation around an assumption that it is a hands-on lab.
  • The sources do not describe question formats in detail, so prepare for the content rather than a guessed item style.

What the structure does tell you is pacing. Part 1 gives you roughly 1.9 minutes per question on average, which is comfortable for recall and short scenario items. Part 2 gives you about 5.6 minutes per question on average, which strongly suggests longer, more involved items that reward careful reading of an environment or configuration situation. That pacing inference is a reasonable planning heuristic, not a statement about the question types Dell uses.

Pacing takeaway: Practice in two modes. Train for quick, accurate recall for the larger Part 1 block, and separately rehearse working a small number of heavier problems without rushing. Candidates who only drill rapid-fire flashcards tend to be surprised by slow, multi-step items.

Why Domain Weights Matter More Than a Cut Score

Without a published cut score, the most useful quantitative information you have is the weighting of the eight official objectives. The published approximate weights total 98% and are kept as published here, without rescaling to 100%. Here is how they break down:

DomainApprox. Weight
PowerMax Family Storage Provisioning24%
PowerMax Family Business Continuity Administration20%
PowerMaxOS 10 Data Mobility12%
PowerMax Family Monitoring and Workload Planning10%
PowerMax Family Local and Remote Replication Concepts10%
Solutions Enabler 10 Implementation10%
Unisphere for PowerMax 10 Implementation and Administration8%
PowerMax Family Management in a Virtual Environment4%

Two observations drive smart preparation. First, Storage Provisioning at 24% and Business Continuity Administration at 20% together make up 44% of the exam by weight. A candidate who is strong in only those two areas still has a large gap to close, but a candidate who is weak in either one has a serious problem. Second, the smallest domain, Management in a Virtual Environment at 4%, is the easiest to under-study, and because the weights are approximate, you should still know the basics rather than skipping it.

For a deeper walkthrough of every content area, read D-PVM-OE-01 Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 8 Content Areas.

Why a "pass mark" mindset can backfire

When candidates fixate on a threshold, they tend to study just enough of each domain to scrape by and ignore the interactions between topics. PowerMax Operate content is heavily interconnected: provisioning decisions affect replication behavior, replication affects business continuity runbooks, and Solutions Enabler and Unisphere are two different interfaces to the same underlying operations. Broad, connected understanding is a better defense against an unknown cut score than a calculated minimum.

Setting Domain-by-Domain Targets for PowerMax Operate

Since no official passing mark exists in the sources, set your own readiness standard on practice material and measure yourself per domain rather than only overall. A reasonable personal rule is to refuse to sit the exam while any single domain on your practice results is clearly weaker than the rest. The blocks below describe what each high-weight area demands.

PowerMax Family Storage Provisioning (24%)

The largest domain. Expect to be tested on how storage is carved out, presented to hosts, and controlled, using the tools named in the product scope.

  • Be fluent in the provisioning workflow in both Unisphere for PowerMax 10 and Solutions Enabler 10, not just one interface.
  • Understand how provisioning choices tie into service levels and workload placement, since this overlaps with the monitoring domain.
  • Know what must exist before a host can see storage and what changes when you modify an existing allocation.

PowerMax Family Business Continuity Administration (20%)

The second-largest domain and the one most likely to separate prepared candidates from memorizers.

  • Study TimeFinder SnapVX and SRDF as operational tools, including how you administer, monitor, and recover with them.
  • Focus on administering continuity, not just defining terms; practice reasoning about what state a replicated environment is in and what action is appropriate.
  • Connect this domain to the replication concepts domain so you can move between theory and day-to-day operations.

PowerMaxOS 10 Data Mobility (12%)

The third-largest domain, and one with a labeling wrinkle: the product list names PowerMaxOS 5978 while the objectives name PowerMaxOS 10 Data Mobility. Both release labels appear in Dell's materials.

  • Cover Non-Disruptive Migration (NDM), Open Replicator, and O-MDM as they appear in the published product scope.
  • Do not assume the two release labels are interchangeable; read the objective wording carefully and study migration behavior within that context.
Product scope note: Dell's product list for this exam is an incomplete fragment in the retrieved source, and it should not be reconstructed from memory or guesswork. Stick to the named products: PowerMaxOS 5978, Solutions Enabler 10, Unisphere for PowerMax 10, TimeFinder SnapVX, SRDF, Open Replicator, NDM, and O-MDM.

Preparing for the Shorter, Slower Part 2

The second part, about 8 questions in 45 minutes, is where many candidates lose their rhythm. Because the sources do not describe its response format, the safest preparation is to build the skill that any detailed item would require: reading a configuration or scenario carefully, identifying the object or state in question, and selecting the correct administrative action.

  • Practice explaining, in your own words, the sequence of steps for a provisioning change from start to finish.
  • Practice diagnosing a replication or snapshot situation: what is the current relationship state, what is the goal, and what is the next action?
  • If you have lab access or hands-on product experience, use it. Dell's stated requirement is sufficient skills from hands-on product experience and/or recommended training, plus passing the Version 2 exam. See D-PVM-OE-01 Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify for the full picture.

A Domain-Sequenced Plan Built Around the Weights

This is the one structured plan in this article, and it is deliberately tied to the published weights rather than to a generic template. Adjust the length to your experience; the order is what matters. For a fuller preparation approach, see D-PVM-OE-01 Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Week 1

Foundation: Provisioning

  • Work through Storage Provisioning (24%) first because it is the heaviest and underpins later topics.
  • Repeat each workflow in both Unisphere for PowerMax 10 and Solutions Enabler 10.
Week 2

Replication Concepts, then Business Continuity

  • Cover Local and Remote Replication Concepts (10%) before Business Continuity Administration (20%) so the administration material has a conceptual base.
  • Concentrate on SnapVX and SRDF operations.
Week 3

Interfaces and Mobility

  • Study Solutions Enabler 10 Implementation (10%), Unisphere for PowerMax 10 Implementation and Administration (8%), and PowerMaxOS 10 Data Mobility (12%).
  • Pay attention to NDM, Open Replicator, and O-MDM scope.
Week 4

Monitoring, Virtualization, and Full Review

  • Finish Monitoring and Workload Planning (10%) and Management in a Virtual Environment (4%).
  • Spend the remaining days on mixed practice, rehearsing both the faster and the slower question styles.

When you are ready to test yourself, the D-PVM-OE-01 practice test site offers material aligned to these objectives. Dell also lists an official practice-test identifier, D-PVM-OE-P-01, which is worth checking in Dell's catalog.

Voucher, Delivery, and Retake Mechanics That Affect Your Margin

Because the passing score is unpublished, your best protection is understanding the cost and retake structure so a first-attempt miss is a setback rather than a disaster.

  • Voucher price: The Pearson VUE USD Global voucher store lists the standard Dell Certification Exam Voucher at USD 230.
  • Voucher validity: The voucher is valid for 12 months. That is separate from credential validity, so do not confuse the two.
  • Delivery: The exam is delivered through Pearson VUE, either at a proctored test center or via OnVUE online proctoring.
  • OnVUE rules: OnVUE generally prohibits books and notes, so plan to rely on memory rather than reference material.
  • Retakes: Certification retake waits are 7 days after the first failure and at least 14 days after the second and subsequent failures.

For a full cost breakdown, see D-PVM-OE-01 Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and for scheduling logistics see D-PVM-OE-01 Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Key Takeaway

Use the 12-month voucher window as a planning tool. Because you cannot immediately retest after a failure, do not book the exam on a date you would only reach by cramming. Schedule once your per-domain practice results are consistently strong, especially in Provisioning and Business Continuity.

Sources to Trust (and Numbers to Ignore)

When it comes to passing-score claims, apply a simple filter. Trust Dell's own Exam Description, the Dell catalog page for the exact exam code, and the Pearson VUE pages for delivery and retake rules. Be skeptical of forum posts, brokers, and dump sites that quote an exact percentage without citing a Dell document, particularly because several credentials in the industry share similar-looking identifiers and their details get mixed together.

Likewise, treat any claim about a specific pass rate with caution; the verified sources reviewed here do not publish one. Our discussion of what data exists is in D-PVM-OE-01 Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows. Credential status is also governed by current Dell policy rather than a fixed renewal term that these sources establish, so check Dell's policy documents for maintenance requirements.

If you are weighing whether the effort is worthwhile, the career-side questions are covered in Is the D-PVM-OE-01 Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the D-PVM-OE-01 exam?

The retrieved Dell sources do not specify a passing score or detailed response formats for the Dell PowerMax Operate (Version 2) exam. Any exact percentage you see elsewhere should be treated as unverified unless it cites a current Dell document. Prepare to be solid across all eight domains instead of targeting a guessed threshold.

How many questions are on the D-PVM-OE-01 exam?

Dell describes two parts: approximately 40 questions in 75 minutes and approximately 8 questions in 45 minutes, for 120 minutes of total allowance. These counts are approximate, so the sources do not establish a fixed 48-question exam or a separately identified practical assessment.

Which domains matter most for passing?

By published weight, PowerMax Family Storage Provisioning is largest at 24%, followed by PowerMax Family Business Continuity Administration at 20%. PowerMaxOS 10 Data Mobility follows at 12%. The published weights total approximately 98%, so no domain should be ignored.

How long do I wait to retake the exam if I fail?

Certification retake waits are 7 days after the first failure and at least 14 days after the second and subsequent failures. Each attempt needs a valid voucher; the standard voucher is listed at USD 230 with 12-month validity.

Can I bring notes or books into an OnVUE exam?

OnVUE generally prohibits books and notes. You can take the exam through Pearson VUE at a proctored test center or online via OnVUE, but in either case you should plan to rely on what you have memorized and practiced rather than reference material.

For a quick refresher on the essentials before exam day, the D-PVM-OE-01 Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts condenses the key points, and you can find more background in What Is D-PVM-OE-01?

Ready to pass your D-PVM-OE-01 exam?

Put this into practice with free D-PVM-OE-01 questions across every exam domain.